Cove Chatter 100: #1

Kyle Crick | RHP, 21 yo, 6-4, 220 | 2011 Draft – 1 (43) | (A+) 14 GS, 68.2 IP, 1.57 ERA, 6.3 H/9, 5.1 BB/9, 12.5 K/9 | (AFL) 7 G, 5 GS, 15.2 IP, 2.87 ERA, 9 H, 11 BB, 24 K

The clear-cut #1 prospect in the system, and a potential top of the rotation arm. Fastball runs 94-98 consistently and is nearly unhittable when it’s on. Still very inexperienced for a professional pitcher, and needs a healthy full season next year in order to keep progressing. His fastball can play at any level right now, but the change/slider/curve combination is a work in progress. He seems to be a calm kid with a good head on his shoulders, and I could see him taking off very soon if he works out his command issues. I think most people forget that he didn’t start pitching full time until the end of his high school career.

I think I’ve made it pretty clear around here just how excited I am about Crick, so I’ll let the rest of the Giants baseball world do the talking.

They said it:

“Explosive stuff…Pitches to an area of the plate rather than a finite location…He’s probably got a better fastball than Matt (Cain) had when he made it to the big leagues.” ~ Giants minor league pitching coordinator Bert Bradley

“…has a chance to have two plus pitches in his fastball and slider, along with a curve and changeup. If the command continues to improve, he can be a top-of-the-rotation starter.” ~ Johnathan Mayo, MLB.com

“He’s got big league stuff right now…He’s a big, strong kid and he has stuff that would play anywhere right now. It’s just a matter of harnessing it a little bit and getting him a little more efficient in the strike zone. If he does that, he can move very, very fast.” ~ San Jose pitching Coach Mike Couchee

“On the mound, he looks so much like Matt Cain if you did not know which one was pitching, you probably could not tell just by looking from the stands, all the way from his physical appearance down to his stance, windup and delivery.” ~ DrB, When the Giants Come to Town

“I don’t even know if I really had (a changeup) at the very beginning of the year…To actually throw it for strikes and dominate with it is a pretty good feeling.” ~ Kyle Crick

Crick 10 K’s Video:

Crick Cove Chatter Article:

Crick SJ Merc Article:

Crick SFGate Article:

A big thank you to everyone for following along throughout this series. It was well worth the time and effort, and I can’t wait to get back to the drawing board this summer for my mid-season list (which won’t be nearly this big). After months of focusing on the minors, it’s time to turn our attention somewhat back to the big leagues, with pitchers and catchers reporting in only a couple weeks. Don’t worry though, there will always be time for prospect talk here at Cove Chatter.

After pitching at Class A San Jose this summer, Kyle  Crick is now in the Arizona Fall League. Photo: Nick Oza, Special To The Chronicle

(Nick Oza)

9 thoughts on “Cove Chatter 100: #1”

  1. Could envision Kyle Crick starting the 2015 season in Fresno and being brought up to the big league club by mid-season 2015, assuming he avoids injuries in 2014..He is a special talent

    1. I can envision that scenario as well, and would be very excited if it happened. I think he will dominate the Eastern League this summer, especially if the walk rates come down a bit.

  2. Great Series. I have enjoyed reading your profiles. I always tell my readers not to get too hung up on the exact order of these things and just try to learn more about the prospects. Everybody loves a list, though, and putting it in a ranking order certainly adds to the interest factor. I can’t wait to see what Kyle Crick and the other members of last year’s SJ rotation do in Richmond. Once they establish themselves there, they can move really fast. The next thing you know, they will be getting called up to replace and injured pitcher or somebody who isn’t performing.

    1. Thanks DrB, appreciate your following. When I started this, I was very fearful that it would seem like a “copycat” series to your Top 50 list. In the end though, I think it was very interesting to see the differences in our lists. Some very intriguing players in this system, for sure. Keith Law and the rest of those guys can say what they want, but I still think these pitchers can hold their own against any other organization. I, too, cannot wait to see who improves their stock this summer… who surprises, and who breaks through to the bigs. Great times ahead.

  3. Congrats! You made it! No disrespect to DocB, but I rank your list higher in my top prospect list list. This is based mostly on Doc putting Hembree #3. I totally jest, but good job, it was a fun series. Crick with more gas than Cain sounds exciting. As long as he’s teachable, he’s going to be a stud and will have plenty of time to learn from the lips of Matt Cain in the SF dugout.

    1. From everything I’ve seen and read, he’s very teachable. Highly competitive, but a sold personality. Just the guy I want to represent the franchise. Thanks for the comments. DrB sets the gold standard, and I am lucky to even be mentioned in the same sentence. Hopefully I cracked the top 10 or your “prospects lists” lists… Wait, did I add too many lists there? Never mind…

  4. Lists are great, but I really enjoyed the exercise in placing all of the prospects on the Giants top 4 minor league teams. I’ve done this on my own in the past. difficult to do, especially with the position players.

    1. Yes it is. I think I had the hardest time with the pitchers. Just too many guys and not enough spots… I’m sure that’s how it always is, but the competition for roster spots in the organization seems to be tightening up. Some good players might be finding themselves with another franchise by April. Thanks for reading.

I'd love your feedback!

