Last Hoorah for 2013

I’ll get the prospect clips up and running again after the New Year. Thanks to those who’ve been following along. Need to get one last post in before the clock turns over, and this just feels like a good time to do some looking back. It’s been an adventurous year for me, to say the least. This time last year, I was student teaching in my hometown in the Sacramento Valley, with almost no money to my name… yes, I know I’m young in the blog world. Spent just about all I had left on an opportunity to see the 49ers (my first love) host Aaron Rodgers (my hometown hero) in what was probably the final postseason game at Candlestick. You better believe I kept that ticket stub. I’m sure that sucker will be worth at least a buck-fifty in 30 years or so…

Anyway, this year has led to many exciting times, and one major loss (my grandpa, two days before my birthday). I was fortunate to get a job offer back in Montana, where I went to college. Ten days after finishing my time with the kiddos in the classroom, I was back on a plane with everything I could fit into two suitcases, headed for that big sky. Now, as a college admissions rep, I’ve been to some of the most remote places you’ll ever see (or never see, if you’re from the Golden State), as well as some major cities that were new to me. Even found myself on the L-Train in Chicago, and eventually the home dugout at Wrigley Field (for a tour). What an experience that was.

Fortunately for me, I get to spend a good chunk of time recruiting in California, which works out pretty nice when you have family in both SoCal and NorCal. Also was able to get to back to back games at the Yard in April. The Fathers were in town, I believe that was the start of the season’s second home stand. There was still hope for 2013 then! I’ll always remember that Friday night game. I bought a pretty nice seat behind the Giants’ dugout on StubHub. I walked to the stadium from my hotel, which took MUCH longer than I’d anticipated. Got to 3rd and King out of breath, only to find a line outside the stadium that doubled back about 10 times. This was about 45 minutes before game time, mind you. I’d never seen anything like it in all the games I’d attended. That was the night that the bomber from the Boston Marathon was on the loose, and security was heightened all around MLB. In the grand scheme of things, there were much bigger problems in the world than missing the first pitch of a baseball game. But it sure didn’t make me feel any better standing outside those gates with a mob of angry fans for the first two innings. But Pagan sent us home with a walk-off single, and all was good. We sang Sweet Caroline for Boston in the 7th inning, and I don’t know why, but I felt something that night telling me the Red Sox were going to be a team of destiny this season. Maybe that sounds weird, but I definitely felt it… and that was only the third week of the season.

I was able to make it to three games this season, all in San Francisco. After the two wins against San Diego, my girlfriend and I flew out in August for a Thursday nighter with Pittsburgh. It was her first professional sporting event. I’ve been going to games at Pac Bell since 2001 (which is nothing compared to most of the folks in the Giants blog world), but taking her for the first time was pretty special. What wasn’t special was the product on the field. The Pirates hung a 10-spot that night, and Cainer got hit by that line drive when I was in the concession line… I am rarely in the concession line. But it’s probably a good thing I missed that anyway. That was also the night I lost all respect for Jose Mijares

Somewhere along the way – about half-way through the season – Cove Chatter was born. I knew I was ready to put my thoughts into words, so I took a chance. I really didn’t know how it would go at first, but I just continued to give it hell. Six months later, this is post #175, with no end in sight. Holy smokes. This thing has gotten bigger in half a year than I ever would have imagined, and I owe so much to all of you who stop by to give it a look. Without you, there would be no blog. The season may not have turned out how we’d hoped, but I can say with conviction that I grew up rooting for (and still do) one of the premier organizations in all of sports. I’m very excited to start my first full year with the blog, and hope to provide you reliable, upbeat perspective through spring and into the 2014 season. This is a very exciting time to follow the Giants organization, and I am humbled to have you read my lowly opinions.

Finally, I’d like to take a minute to give credit where it’s due. Really, this blog was inspired by the work of two other sites which I admire greatly and read tirelessly every day. I know the majority of you found Cove Chatter via “When the Giants Come to Town” or “You Gotta Like These Kids”, but for anyone who didn’t, I would highly, highly recommend you spend some time at each site. DrB and Shankbone, two men I have never met, work harder than just about anyone in this whole crazy community of Giants blogging. If I ever have half the knowledge of the organization that those two do, it will be a small miracle. When I discovered DrB’s site a couple years ago, I couldn’t believe there were other people as crazy as me who check the minor league box scores, every single day. I knew I’d be coming back frequently.

Well, on that note I think we’ll call it a year. Thanks again to everyone who’s supported this site, there are many of you. Here’s to a year of health, good fortunes, and of course another World Series title… Seriously, if the Giants win another one in the coming years, I’m calling it the trifecta until someone has the nerve to stop me. Happy New Year’s everybody, and lastly… Go Giants!

Lincecum Hug

(Getty Images)

5 thoughts on “Last Hoorah for 2013”

  1. Thank you for the shoutout. You have a great product on this blog. I’ve found out that if you have a good product and work hard to produce it, you will find an audience.

    Through my own experience, I’ve been amazed at how much hunger there is out there for thoughtful commentary on the Giants. You certainly provide that.

    1. Thank you to you DrB. Your blog truly is the gold standard for Giants forums. Your dedication to it and your readers is very impressive. I’m humbled to have your support.

  2. Great post man! Have a happy and productive new year. I like your prospect countdown. It’s getting interesting. You say “who are these guys?” now, but next year they’ll be sitting in Ty Blach or Derek Law’s seat.

    1. Thanks for the compliments,and for following Cove Chatter. I’m glad you are enjoying the prospect series. I’ve learned a ton about the organization throughout the process, that’s for sure. There’s really no reason to assign numbers to them, other than it makes it more interesting. But I’d do it again, even if it was just a prospect series, not a ranking. I’ll call it now… Nick Vander Tuig, next year’s Ty Blach!

I'd love your feedback!

