Cove Chatter 100: #50

Gustavo Cabrera | CF, 17 yo, 6-2, 190, BR, TR | IFA 2012 DR | (DSL) 54 G, 229 PA, .247/.379/.360, .739 OPS, 2 HR, 22 RBI, 21 SB, 7 CS, 30 BB, 54 K

I know I may be in the minority in moving Cabrera nearly off the list. For what it’s worth, he was in my top 10 before suffering a severe wrist injury in a freak accident in the Dominican Republic in late October. Now, he’s probably looking at a lost season, much like fellow promising 2012 international signee Nathanael Javier. Until we see Gustavo back on the field, I just can’t give him a high placement… but I don’t want folks to think I’ve forgotten about him either. If and when Cabrera is healthy, he’s one of the only legitimate 5-tool prospects in the organization. After a slow start, he hit .314 with 2 HR and 11 SB in 26 second-half games this year. He also showed off his CF cannon with 5 outfield assists. The injury hurts his stock for the moment, but age is still on his side.

They said it: “Cabrera…has dazzled scouts with his bat speed, hitting mechanics, range on defense and raw power in games and showcases during the past year.” ~ Jesse Sanchez, MLB.com

Cabrera Video: (Holy bat speed!)

Image

13 thoughts on “Cove Chatter 100: #50”

    1. I just can’t do it until he’s back on the field. If he was healthy, I still don’t know if I’d go higher than 5 yet though. He’s kind of in the Mella boat for me: could be one of the best players in the system, but I’d like to see a little more of what they offer. Arroyo fits that mold too, I guess. Let’s hope there’s no question about Cabrera’s ability next offseason, and that he’s back on the field.

    1. I haven’t decided exactly how many I’ll put out in a day. I’ve got quite a few of them done already, just have to copy and paste. What do you think people would prefer… one a day while supplementing with hot stove, or 2-3 a day? I was thinking I could use this to get us through a good chunk of the offseason, but I’m open for suggestion.

  1. I have Gustavo at 31 on my Fab 40 list that has not been put out yet. I think he would be around # 10 to 15 on my list without the injury. I don’t think there is a clear answer at this point. You just have to wonder how weak his hand will be with the nerve damage no matter how good the physician was that put him back together.

  2. BTW, I think a few prospects a day would be good, I usually go with 5 a day at Pro Sports Daily and on my blog, A Giant Obsession.

    1. Thanks for the comment! For as much time and effort I put into this project, I think I’ll probably extend it out a little longer. 2-3 a day wouldn’t be too bad, but I don’t know that I’ll do anymore than that. Gotta have something to bring the good people back!

I'd love your feedback!

