Thanks

With Thanksgiving tomorrow, this seems like the perfect time to share a few things. I started a Giants blog in 2011 called Big Sky Giants… It didn’t last very long, as I learned just how much work it takes to run a strong blog. If you know anything about me (which I’m sure most of you don’t), I don’t do things half way. Especially not when it comes to sports. Ultimately, Big Sky Giants fizzled out late that summer, much like the real-life Giants.

Then, that crazy franchise I’ve followed since the late 90’s (the Brian Johnson days) decided to beat the odds again, and I knew I couldn’t hold back much longer. When you live and breathe baseball, which I believe I have for the past 6 years or so (roughly since I graduated high school, for those who don’t know much about me), eventually you need an outlet to express your thoughts. Most of my close friends are big-time sports fans, and I’ve learned so much about the actual “game” of baseball from them (and a couple years of coaching), but after a while you start to realize that your interest is quite a bit more than the typical fan… even your friends.

For the record, the 2008 Augusta Greenjackets were the team that hooked me on the minor leagues. Bum, Angel V., Nick Noonan, and Thomas Neal… that was a sweet group. And when you get hooked on the minors, there’s no going back. With all the winning in the past few years, it was easy to overlook what was going on down on the farm, but this season definitely helped restore my passion for all levels of the game. When you’re checking box scores for every affiliate, every night, you know you’re a baseball nerd…

So Cove Chatter is my attempt at redemption in the blog world. I started in June, and with the help of some incredibly dedicated Giants bloggers, it’s now just starting to take off. It hasn’t always been easy to keep the posts coming. I write about 3 of them in my head every day, but there’s just not enough time in the day to put figurative pen to paper as much as I’d like. If the past five months has taught me anything, though, it’s that blogging really is a passion for me. It’s such an exciting feeling to share your thoughts with the world, and I’ve learned so many new things about this sport in the past five months. It makes it all the more special when you know people out there are actually reading and responding to your writing. Without all of you, there wouldn’t be any point in keeping this going.

This is my opportunity to say thanks for taking time out of your schedule to give Cove Chatter a read. I appreciate it more than you know, and I can’t wait to see what the future holds in store for this blog… or the franchise that makes it go, our beloved San Francisco Giants.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

– KG

6 thoughts on “Thanks”

    1. Thank you Drb, and you as well. Cove Chatter would not have taken off if not for your support. I have followed your blog for a couple years now, and am honored to have your backing.

  1. Thanks for doing what you do here. Your writing style, perspective and maturity belie your chronological age. You must have also been a Giants fan in a former life. Congrats and keep it up !

    1. Wow, thank you for the compliments, as well as your following. Football was my first love, but somewhere along the line baseball just kind of swooped in. Didn’t attend my first Giants game until 2001, but I’ll never forget the days bragging to my SFG fan buddies about this up and coming kid who’d take the Giants by storm…. Madison Bumgarner. Following these guys from their early days in the organization is such a rewarding feeling when they succeed.

      Thanks again for your support, and happy Thanksgiving.

    1. Thank you for following! I have always felt that objectivity is rare in this world. But growing up listening to Miller, Kuiper, Krukow, etc, really showed me the way… those guys are some of the most objective announcers out there, in my opinion (although Kruk gets a bad rep sometimes as a “homer,” I think he does a good job complementing other teams/players as well). If you can’t be objective, people will see right through your work.

      I appreciate your comment.

I'd love your feedback!

