Where are the Champs?

Image

I thought this would be a good time to take a quick break from my mid-season prospects list and address the serious funk that has bestowed itself upon our defending World Series champions. Every baseball season is full of ups and downs, as we all know, but the last month of play from the Giants has been downright dreadful – and it’s coming to a head in the middle of another lengthy road trip. 

I’m going to try my best not to rant here, but I will say this: When the Giants entered June as a middling club, we knew they had a very grueling month of road games ahead of them.  20 to be exact.  But that wasn’t anything to get too anxious about, because the Giants are a team that always manages to weather the storm, even on the road. The only problem with that theory (and it’s a big one) is that the 2012 Giants were a good road team. The 2013 Giants are an awful road team.  20 road contests in a month for an awful road team just don’t bode well, and I’ll honestly say that I wondered whether this stretch would sink them… but I didn’t truly believe they would fall 4 games below .500 (and counting).

I think this is a good time to remind everyone (and myself) that we haven’t even reached the All-Star break. It is not time to panic. But at the rate the Giants are stumbling, I think it is time to stop making excuses and ask the question: Where in the hell are the world champion Giants? 

I'd love your feedback!

